New Dover Methodist Episcopal Church was founded 12 years before the Civil War. The original few farm families of "Dumplingtown" had attended churches in Rahway and Woodbridge. Under the leadership of Samuel Wood and Joseph Toms, the present sanctuary was built in 1849 and included a picket fence and horse shed at a cost of $2,700.00.
The first pastor was the Reverend George Jeffry who walked every week from Perth Amboy to conduct services. In 1855, the Reverend Jeremiah Cowins arrived as the first assigned minister.
Over the years, grounds and buildings have been added and the church has been modified, but the sanctuary retained the basic design of the farm community church built 168 years ago.
In 1917, the church bell was first rung. Electricity was added in 1924. In the early 1930's, the original steeple was replaced. In 1951 a utility room was built and heating plant installed to replace two pot-bellied stoves.
In 1952, the Fellowship Hall was built. In 1955 the parsonage was built across the street. In 1962 Wesley Hall was built along with the Church School.
On April 23, 1968 the United Methodist Church was created when The Evangelical United Brethren Church and The Methodist Church united to form a new denomination. And we became New Dover United Methodist Church.
Around 1993 our church had a severe fire which destroyed Wesley Hall and the Church School, however with tragedy a new hall and school was shortly built.
Today we are a thriving, multi-cultural church in a multicultural community steeped in our rich history but always striving forward, toward an exciting future while serving the Edison community.